Skip to content

Interpolation using Scipy/Numpy

January 19, 2010

As part of a little script I’m writing, I need to do some simple linear interpolation. The Matlab equivalent of what I’m doing is called ‘interp1’. So far I’ve come across two ways to do 1-d, linear interpolation. One is ‘interp’ in numpy. The other is ‘interp1d’ in scipy.interpolate. I’m not completely sure of the difference. Is one faster? Is one older? I’ve googled around a bit, but still haven’t found a clear answer. For now, I’ve implemented ‘interp1d’, which is less similar to Matlab’s ‘interp1’. You first define an interpolated object given your x and y vectors. Then you call that object with your new x-values to generate the new y-values.

And here is an example, chopped out of my code:

depthvector1 = r_[0:nadirdepth:DepthIncrement] 
interpfun1 = interp1d(depth1,ssp1) # my x and y vectors
sspvector1 = interpfun1(depthvector1) # find the new y's for this x
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

