Skip to content

Python – matrices or arrays?

January 14, 2010

Sometimes I think I have my biggest breakthroughs while biking home. Tonight, for instance, it dawned on me (on the stretch between the beach and Patterson) just how awful the Matlab version of my ray tracing code really is. And I realised that I could vastly improve its simplicity and efficiency by using matrices (Yikes! Why on earth did I implement all of those nested loops?). I pictured the steps and the math involved, the Matlab commands that I would need, and got really excited – until I realized that I don’t know how to do any of the same stuff in Python yet. First of all, I need to figure out how to work with arrays in Matlab. Thankfully, there’s a special page on Scipy.org Matlab users who are trying to migrate to Numpy/Scipy. Yes! And here it is: Numpy for Matlab Users. My first question was, “How do I make it do element-wise operations?” In Matlab, you need to modify the operator, for example using “.*” to multiply by elements, and just “*” to do matrix multiplication. Matlab thinks in linear algebra for 2d matrices. But, as I quickly learned, the default array in Numpy does element by element operations, unless you create a special matrix object. Awesome.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

