Skip to content

Best Python version to use

December 7, 2009
tags:

As I read the introductory chapter of Learning Python (4th ed.)  last night before bed, I was made aware, for the first time, that there are two very different versions of python out there.  There’s old trusty and reliable version (2.6.x), and then there’s a newfangled version (3.x).  Python 2.6 is robust and reliable.  But apparently not perfect – which is why Python 3.0 was introduced.  Python 3.0 is supposed to be superior (certainly according to Mark Lutz, author of Learning Python, all editions) – but does not yet have the full capabilities or libraries that old school Python has been rockin for years.  I posted this question on Facebook, asking my Python-user friends which they recommended.  I had pretty much unanimous votes for 2.6, with one comment that just said “Yes. Woof.”

I think I’ll probably focus on 2.6 for now, but maybe check out 3.0 also since the Learning Python book is all about 3.x.  And I did pay $54.99 before tax, wouldn’t want that to go to waste.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

