Skip to content

Jolicloud woes

December 2, 2009

I should probably start with the one main reason that made me want to start a blog.  It’s my Jolicloud experience.  Actually my linux experience.  I’ve been messing around with Linux, mainly Ubuntu, for about a year now.  And I’m sick of forgetting everything I learn, and then having to look it up again later.  TOTAL pain in the ass.

I used to have some older version of Ubuntu on my netbook.  I think it was 8.04, jaunty jackalope, or fiesty fawn, or something.  I was okay with it. But I started reading articles on the Google Chrome OS, just out of curiosity.  I soon discovered that this was not so interesting to me.  It’s not coming out for a year, it’s going to be built for very specific netbooks (I think they actually have hardware partnerships), and it seems like the OS is pretty much just Google Chrome browser.  ONLY google chrome browser.  I’m not saying I’ll never use it, just that as much as I love google stuff, I will need some more convincing on this one.

SO (it’s late.  I’m rambling) – I saw someone comment on Google Chrome OS that Jolicloud is better.  I looked up Jolicloud, and it  looked really cool.  Got myself an invite, and I was up and running.  Loved it.  I watched Hulu.  I watched YouTube.  I tweeted.  I skyped.  I was happy.  Then my wireless started dropping.  First just a bit.  Then it got so bad that I couldn’t even stay online for more than a couple of minutes.  Pathetic.  I even went out to Best Buy and bought a shiny new wireless router.  Which I will now have to return.  Because it was not the wireless router’s fault.  It was the driver for my laptop’s wireless adapter (Atheros something, I can’t remember right now).  After a few hours of searching, I finally realised that I was not going to get it working any time soon.  Or at least it would require that I spend a lot of time learning a lot of linuxy stuff.

See this:
Ubuntu wiki – Hardware issues

Bug discussion

After spending several hours on the suggested solution near the end of that second link (I did consider it a valiant effort), I gave up and reinstalled Ubuntu.  But not he same Ubuntu.  I installed the new 9.10.  It’s pretty similar from what I can tell, but the booting up screen shows a pretty Ubuntu symbol bathed in the soft glow of an imaginary spotlight somewhere above the screen…Oh right, and there is a new “software center”.  Which is pretty much like Synaptic.

But I’m happy for now.  I had Jolicloud for just long enough to see that for all it’s pretty colors and bright lights, it wasn’t necessarily the right OS for me.  Maybe in January when they release their own interface (down with UNR!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruediger Biernat permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:46 am

    Sounds pretty much like an ASUS EEE Netbook. In my case it is a 1101HA. Wifi drops quite often. But as Jolicloud is the only distribution which offers GMA500 support out of the box I am stuck with it. I am looking forward to see the beta or the final. Maybe they have solved the Wifi bugs then. Although I know that this belongs to the upstream.

Leave a Reply

